Heian Kata

The Heian kata form the basis of the Shotokan syllabus from beginner to Brown belt. Heian means empty, or open, mind. This should be considered as not meaning a mind with nothing but rather, a beginners mind open and ready to receive new information. The way your mind should be when starting karate is inquisitive, ready to absorb anything new and different, and not to have any predetermined views or ideas about what karate is or means.

Heian Shodan

9th Kyu (Red Belt)

Heian Nidan

7th Kyu (Yellow Belt)​​

Heian Sandan

6th Kyu (Green Belt)

Heian Yondan

5th Kyu (Purple Belt)

Heian Godan

4th Kyu (Purple/White Belt)